Somewhat Crunchy: Home-made Washing Powder Review

“Trial 1” went very well!! In fact since my post I’ve notched up 5 loads of washing, partly due to the excitement and testing of the home-made washing powder. It’s removed stains from a white hoodie stained with coffee and poo stained nappies and leaves everything smelling of… well… nothing! Everything just smells of clean, if you can call that a smell?! I just wish mine looked as good as this:

2113 Washing Washing by Andy Linden

Now I’m wondering if I should attempt some sort of pre-wash stain remover using the borax substitute as most of Mr BP’s jeans are destroyed from being at the horse yard he was volunteering at. I mean the minor stains weren’t really an issue at all but he wears the same jeans for a week and the dirt just gets ground in. The only stain left on the jeans I washed today is a large stain on the knee, looks like he was kneeling in something… I just don’t want to know what it was!

Having a huge tub of washing powder also encouraged me to make space for it so I took 10 minutes to clear the shelves under the sink – including the old used cloths, gross!!

All in all I feel as though I’ve been very productive!

2 Comments to “Somewhat Crunchy: Home-made Washing Powder Review”

  1. Awesome! You’ve inspired me, I am going to have a go at making my own!

    • Oh I found American “cup” recipe cups [just cheapy ones] in Asda for a set of 4 and the smallest is 1/4 cup so I just used half of it for the powder and dumped the powder straight into the machine rather than in the drawer :]

Leave a comment